Salmon Fish Cakes with Tartare Sauce

Fish cakes were something we had for dinner when I was a kid. And something I always enjoyed but had forgotten about. But I saw Jamie Oliver talking about them on TV and it sparked my memory.

I boiled a few potatoes and them mashed them, making sure they were drained really well first to make sure the cakes wouldn’t be watery. I then added some tinned red salmon, chopped spring onions, coriander and an egg and mixed it all together. I shaped them into little half cup patties and popped them in the fridge for half an hour to ensure they kept their shape.

I then crumbed them by rolling them in flour, dunking them in some egg and then coating them in fresh bread crumbs. I heated some oil in a small saucepan and shallow fried the little patties until they were golden and crunchy.

To make a quick tartare sauce, I just mixed together some mayonnaise, capers, lemon juice and chopped gherkins. I served it with some lemon to squeeze over them and some rocket to freshen it up.

It was enough for a main meal, though you could do a smaller serving and have it as an entree or make smaller ones and have them as a canape at a cocktail party.


Leave a comment