Sweetcorn Fritters with Bacon, Avocado and Lime

Bill Granger has three restaurants in Sydney – Bills in Wollhara, Bills in Darlinghurst and Bills in Surry Hills. All three share the same menu and i’m sure everything on it is delicious. Though i’ve only ever had one thing. His corn fritters. And i’ve been there quite a few times. My corn fritter loving friend and I have even been to each of the three bills for Saturday lunch for the last three Saturdays. Just to have the corn fritters. So I thought i’d give them a go myself.

Bill’s corn fritters are big and main meal sized, though I did little entree sized ones. I used Bill’s recipe from his book Bill’s Food. I combined half a cup of ground rice, half a cup of plain flour, a quarter of a teaspoon of baking powder, half a teaspoon of salt, a teaspoon of ground coriander, half a teaspoon of ground cumin. Then added an egg, a teaspoon of lemon juice and half a cup of water and mixed to make a batter. I then cut the kernels from 3 big corn cobs and stirred them into the batter with 4 sliced spring onions and some chopped coriander.

I think the secret to these delicious corn fritters is the ground rice. It makes them light and crunchy. You can buy it or it is easy to make it yourself – just pop some rice in the blender or food processor and grind until it becomes a fine powder.

Then it is just a matter of shaping them and shallow frying them in oil in a saucepan.

If I was making these as a meal i’d make them bigger and bulk up the meal with some baby spinach and capsicum. But for these little ones, I topped them with some avocado, little bits of cooked bacon and squeeze of lime juice.


Leave a comment