Dinner One – Tandoori Lamb Cutlets

Hi, i’m Kate… and i’m in dinner rut. There are only so many nights you can have tacos or chicken and salad for dinner before you realise that you need to branch out and try something new. So i’m going to try to cook something new, healthy and delicious every night, and then tell you about it, incase you want to make it too.

Last night I made tandoori lamb cutlets with bombay potatoes, a recipe by Valli Little out of the Delicious magazine. Here is the link to her recipe. It was quick and easy to prepare, there weren’t many ingredients that I had to buy, it was healthy and very tasty.

I started off by placing 12 lamb cutlets, two tablespoons of tandoori paste, two tablespoons of natural yoghurt and a tablespoon of honey in a snap lock bag and left it to marinate in the fridge.

Meanwhile, I quartered 8 medium potatoes and popped them in a pot of water to boil until I could just pierce them with a fork. I then let them dry out a little in a strainer.

I slurped a good splosh of olive oil into a large frying pan on high heat and let it warm up. Two teaspoons of black mustard seeds were then added until they started to pop, and then two table spoons of curry powder, a tablespoon of garam masala, two table spoons of grated ginger and the potatoes were added until they started to crisp. Two de-seeded tomatoes were sliced and added in, along with a few handfuls of baby spinach, until they wilted a little.

I popped another frying pan on the burner next to the veggies and seared the cutlets until they were medium rare. After resting them for a few minutes, i popped it all on the plate with some natural yoghurt on the side.

It was a hit! My dinner guest (who would have takeaway Indian every night if he could) loved it and has raved about it all morning.

                                 

Day one of my new interesting dinners plan maybe went a little too well… I feel a lot of pressure about night two!


Leave a comment