Dinner Two – Pork Wonton Soup

I love the idea of wonton soup. I love the salty, flavoursome broth, the floating green strips of bok choy, and the punch of chilli. But I don’t love the meat in most of the wontons i’ve had, hard and lumpy and mysterious. So tonight I set about recreating a delicious wonton soup, but with beautiful, soft wontons full of fresh ingredients.

I started by mixing together the wonton filling. 500g of free range pork mince, three thinly sliced green onions, two teaspoons of finely chopped ginger and a good splash of soy sauce. Then I placed a small ball of the mixture in the centre of a square wonton wrapper. You can find them in the supermarket next to the fresh pasta. I dipped my finger in a bowl of water and ran it around the perimeter of the wonton wrapper. I then just folded the opposite corners together and pinched to tighten. It took a little bit of time to get them all done, but it was a pretty fun job and I was proud to look at them all when they were done.

Wanting to make a pork wonton soup, I then simply placed two free range pork fillets into a baking dish, covered them in a little hoi sin sauce and put them in the oven for about ten minutes until cooked.

The broth was next, and was just about the easiest thing i’ve ever made… I just sploshed some chicken stock, a little water and a couple of slices of ginger into a pot and popped it on the stove. Once it was hot, I removed the ginger slices and added a bit of soy sauce to taste. All that was left to do was pop the wontons in, six at a time, for about five minutes, or until they floated to the top of the broth. When they were done, i dropped them into a bowl with some thinly sliced bok choy, and poured the steaming broth over the top. The heat of the liquid is enough to quickly cook the bok choy.

I topped it with some sliced, roasted pork, a few slices of chilli (my weakness) and a sprinkle of chopped spring onions.

It was delicious. And so easy. A great, quick, healthy weeknight meal.


Leave a comment